Mirna Ackers – flute

Lotus de Vries – viola

Oxana Thijssen – harp

The Dutch Ravel Trio was formed in 2015, when we met each other during our studies at the Conservatory of Amsterdam. Individually, we are all laureates of the prestigious Dutch “Prinses Christina Concours”.

A lot of beautiful music is written and arranged for this combination which we wanted to discover together. Mirna also arranged some works especially for this trio, like Petite Suite by Claude Debussy, Romanian Folk Dances by Béla Bartók and Five Pieces for two violins and piano by Dmitri Shostakovich. On the one hand, these arrangements make us search for sounds inspired by the original instrumentation, but on the other hand they give us a lot of freedom in interpretation. 

The first piece we played together as an ensemble is Sonatine en trio by Maurice Ravel, after which we named our trio. The Ravel Trio regularly gives concerts in various chamber music series throughout the Netherlands.